Vertical Arena 2017

June 8, 2017 / House Sesto

 
 
 
1
1

Vertical Arena 2017

REVIEW

8. Juni 2017 / 20.00 pm

House Sesto

FASTER, HIGHER, FURTHER!
QUO VADIS ALPINISM? 

5 SPEAKERS FROM 3 DIFFERENT COUNTRIES AND 3 MOUNTAIN SPORTS TOLD THEIR STORIES
If you think of first ascents and pioneering spirit in mountaineering today, the topics of marketing, sponsors and social media immediately raise their heads. Not only that: “New” trend sports like freeriding and base jumping have become important contents of the Vertical Community. All activities demand that: participants must reach new goals and must be skilful at self-promotion. Whether at multimedia shows, in films and of course also on Facebook and other social media  – what counts are good pictures and exciting stories!

VERTICAL ARENA IN A NEW FORMAT

The “Vertical Arena” series of events in  Sesto  at the foot of the Sesto Dolomite massif, first engaged with this topic in 2017. On 08.06.2017 at 8:00 pm, renowned actors from the international scene presented their passion at Casa Sesto. THEY DID THIS IN A NEW FORMAT NEVER SEEN BEFORE: The speakers presented their current first climbs and projects in short keynotes (maximum 20 mins), followed by a panel discussion: “Faster, higher, further! Quo Vadis Alpinism?” The discussion was presented by Andi Erkens from the German Alpin Magazin.
The speakers were: Simon Gietl (alpinism, Italy-South Tyrol), Hansjörg Auer (alpinism, Austria), Nicola Tondini (alpinism, Italy), Nadine Wallner (freeride ski, Austria) und Patrick Aufdenblatten (basejump, Switzerland). The event was simultaneously interpreted between German and Italian.
In 2002, the International Year of Mountains, the village of Sesto organised an international expert forum on mountaineering and climbing for the first time. Famous mountaineers and mountain guides from far and near, sports physicians, philosophers, filmmakers and tourism experts gathered for the first time at the foot of the Sesto Dolomites. 15 years later the Vertical Arena was started again and on Thursday, 08.06.2017 the event took place for the first time in a completely new format. Lisi Steurer, herself an active alpinist and mountain guide from Lienz, East Tyrol, was responsible for the idea and organisation of the event.
The aim of the “Vertical Arena” series of events in Sesto is to enliven contemporary alpinism with fresh themes and to direct the focus from the past to current events.

Vortragende 2017

PRESS PHOTOS

Images of Vertical ARENA 2017. When using these images, the following photo credit must be given: Vertical Arena 2017 © wildzooentertainment

Press release

Press release for the announcement of the Vertical Arena 2017 (“FASTER, HIGHER, FURTHER! QUO VADIS ALPINISM?”) and a summary (New ways)

Vertical Arena 2017 in Bildern

This post is also available in: deDeutsch itItaliano

Vertical Arena 2017

8. Juni 2017 / Haus Sexten

 
 
 
1
1

Vertical Arena 2017

Rückblick

8. Juni 2017 / 20.00 Uhr

Haus Sexten

Schneller, höher, weiter!
Quo Vadis Alpinismus?

5 Protagonisten aus 3 verschiedenen Ländern und 3 Bergsportarten erzählten
Wenn man heute an Erstbesteigungen und Pioniergeist im Alpinismus denkt, kommen sofort auch die Themen Vermarktung, Sponsoren und Social Media ins Spiel. Aber nicht nur das: Auch „neue“ Trendsportarten wie Freeriden und Base Jumpen sind wichtige Inhalte der Vertikalen Community geworden. Bei allen Aktivitäten gilt: Mann/Frau muss neue Ziele erreichen und sich dabei geschickt vermarkten können. Egal ob bei Multimedia Shows, in Filmen und natürlich auch per Facebook und Co. – was zählt, sind gute Bilder und spannende Geschichten!

Vertical Arena in neuem Format

Die Veranstaltungsreihe „Vertical Arena“ in Sexten am Fuße des gleichnamigen Dolomitenstocks widmete sich 2017 erstmals diesem Thema. Am 08.06.2017 um 20.00 Uhr präsentierten im Haus Sexten namhafte Protagonisten aus der internationalen Szene ihre Leidenschaft. UND DAS IN EINEM FORMAT, DAS ES BISHER SO NOCH NIE GEGEBEN HAT: In kurzen Impulsvorträgen (max. 20 Min.) wurden die aktuellen Erstbegehungen und Projekte von den Protagonisten vorgestellt, anschließend gab es eine Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema: „Schneller, Höher, Weiter! Quo Vadis Alpinismus?“. Die Diskussion wurde von Andi Erkens vom deutschen Alpin Magazin geleitet.
Die Protagonisten des Abends waren: Simon Gietl (Alpin, Italien-Südtirol), Hansjörg Auer (Alpin, Österreich), Nicola Tondini (Alpin, Italien), Nadine Wallner (Ski-Freeride, Österreich) und Patrick Aufdenblatten (Basejump, Schweiz). Die Veranstaltung wurde in zwei Sprachen (Deutsch – Italienisch, Mikrofone) simultan übersetzt.
2002, im internationalen Jahr der Berge, veranstaltete das Dorf Sexten erstmals ein internationales Fachforum zum Thema Bergsteigen und Klettern. Bekannte Bergsteiger und Bergführer aus nah und fern, Sportmediziner, Philosophen, Filmemacher und Tourismusexperten versammelten sich damals erstmals am Fuße der Sextner Dolomiten. 15 Jahre später wurde die Vertical Arena erneut gestartet und am Donnerstag, 08.06.2017 ging die Veranstaltung in einem ganz neuen Format erstmals wieder über die Bühne. Für die Idee und Organisation der Veranstaltung konnte Lisi Steurer, selbst aktive Alpinistin und Bergführerin aus Lienz, Osttirol gewonnen werden.
Ziel der Veranstaltungsreihe „Vertical Arena“ in Sexten ist es, den zeitgenössischen Alpinismus mit frischen Themen zu beleben und den Blick von der Vergangenheit auf aktuelle Geschehnisse zu lenken.

Vortragende 2017

Pressebilder

Bilder zur Vertical Arena 2017. Bei Verwendung ist folgender Bildcredit zu nennen: Vertical Arena 2017

Pressetexte

Pressetext zur Ankündigung der Vertical Arena 2017 (“Schneller, Höher, Weiter! Quo Vadis Alpinismus?”) sowie ein Resümee (Neue Wege)

Vertical Arena 2017 in Bildern

This post is also available in: enEnglish itItaliano