Vertical Arena 2018

June 14, 2018 / Sesto indoor climbing centre

 
 
 
 
 
1
1

Vertical Arena 2018

Review

14. Juni 2018 / 20.00 pm

Sesto indoor climbing centre

MASSES IN THE MOUNTAINS

THE SERIES OF EVENTS "VERTICAL ARENA" IN THE DOLOMITES OF SEXTEN TOOK PLACE FOR A SECOND YEAR!
After last year’s extremely successful event, the second Vertical Arena in Sesto took place on 14.06.2018 at 8:00 pm. Participants were once more international greats from the mountaineering scene such as  Steve House (USA), Ines Papert (GER), Lukas Furtenbach (AUT) and Heinz Grill (ITA). The location could not have been more perfect: the newly refurbished indoor climbing centre in Sesto, South Tyrol.
The most special thing about the event: Famous and not so well-known acteurs from the mountain sports scene shared the stage and talked about their victories in the mountains. The format of the event is the brainchild of East Tyrolean mountain guide and Alpine climber Lisi Steurer and the Tourism Association Sesto. It was already a  great hit with the audience in 2017.
In 2018 expedition organiser Lukas Furtenbach from Innsbruck came to Sesto and talked about his Everest Flash expeditions. Physically fit and well-off participants can acclimatise at home in oxygen tents and thus reach Mt. Everest, the summit of their dreams, faster. Time is money – also in the mountains! Commercial mountaineering versus “alpine style” climbing. This is what American Steve House, one of the most famous purists of the scene, also talked about that evening. House conquered the most difficult routes in the Himalaya, including the Rupal flank at Nanga Parbat (8,125 m) in Alpine style without fixed ropes and bottled oxygen.
The 20-minute keynote talks by the extreme mountaineers there were followed by a discussion on the topic “Curse and blessing of the masses in the mountains”. Additional podium guests were Sesto hotelier, mountain guide and mountain rescuer Joe Rainer and  Christina Schwann MA, Ecologist, a freelance regional developer.
Vertical ARENA 2018 in Sesto was presented by  Peter Plattner, editor in chief of the magazine  bergundsteigen.

Vortragende 2018

Press photos

Images of Vertical ARENA 2018. When using these images, the following photo credit must be given: Vertical Arena 2018 © wisthaler.com/Patrick Schwienbacher

Presse releases

Press release for the announcement of the Vertical Arena 2018 and a summary.

Press reviews

Vertical Arena 2018 in the press: Reviews also on  dolomitenstadt.at and alpin.de

Images of Vertical Arena 2018

This post is also available in: deDeutsch itItaliano

Vertical Arena 2018

14. Juni 2018 / Kletterhalle Sexten

 
 
 
 
 
1
1

Vertical Arena 2018

Rückblick

14. Juni 2018 / 20.00 Uhr

Kletterhalle Sexten

Massen am Berg

Die Veranstaltungsreihe „Vertical Arena“ in den Sextener Dolomiten ging in die zweite Runde!
Nach der äußerst erfolgreichen Veranstaltung im Vorjahr fand am 14.06.2018 um 20.00 Uhr die zweite Vertical Arena in Sexten statt. Mit dabei waren erneut internationale Größen der Bergsteigerszene wie Steve House (USA), Ines Papert (GER), Lukas Furtenbach (AUT) und Heinz Grill (ITA). Die Location hätte dafür passender nicht sein können: die neu umgebaute Kletterhalle in Sexten, Südtirol.
Das Besondere: Bekannte und weniger bekannte Protagonisten aus der Bergsport-Szene standen gemeinsam auf der Bühne und erzählten über ihre Erfolge am Berg. Das Format der Veranstaltung hat sich die Osttiroler Bergführerin und Alpinistin Lisi Steurer zusammen mit dem Tourismusverein Sexten einfallen lassen und hatte bereits im Jahr 2017 regen Anklang beim Publikum gefunden.
2018 kam der Innsbrucker Expeditionsveranstalter Lukas Furtenbach nach Sexten und erzählte von seinen Everest Flash Expeditionen, bei denen sich konditionell und finanziell starke Teilnehmer/-innen zu Hause in Sauerstoff-Zelten akklimatisieren können und dadurch schneller den Gipfel ihrer Träume, den Mt. Everest erreichen. Zeit ist eben auch am Berg Geld! Kommerzielles Bergsteigen versus Alpinstilbergsteigen, von dem der Amerikaner Steve House, einer der bekanntesten Puristen der Szene, ebenfalls an diesem Abend erzählte. House gelangen schwierigste Routen im Himalaya, unter anderem die Rupal Flanke am Nanga Parbat (8.125 m) im Alpinstil ohne Fixseile und Flaschensauerstoff.
Nach den max. 20-minütigen Impulsvorträgen der Extrembergsteiger/-innen gab es im Anschluss eine Diskussion zum Thema „Fluch und Segen der Massen am Berg“. Zusätzliche Podiumsgäste waren der Sextener Hotelier, Bergführer und Bergretter Joe Rainer und Mag. Christina Schwann, Ökologin und selbständige Regionalentwicklerin.
Die Vertical Arena 2018 in Sexten wurde von Peter Plattner, dem Chefredakteur des bergundsteigen-Magazins, moderiert.

Vortragende 2018

Pressebilder

Bilder zur Vertical Arena 2018. Bei Verwendung ist folgender Bildcredit zu nennen: Vertical Arena 2018 © wisthaler.com/Patrick Schwienbacher

Pressetexte

Pressetext zur Ankündigung der Vertical Arena 2018 („Massen am Berg“) sowie ein Resümee (Steve House, Ines Papert und die Massen am Berg)

Presserezensionen

Die Vertical Arena 2018 in der Presse: Rezensionen auf dolomitenstadt.at und alpin.de

Vertical Arena 2018 in Bildern

This post is also available in: enEnglish itItaliano